Need help in Atlanta

Home improvement Q&A, pictures and news fro Mid Century Modern Homes and Houses(NOT for Real Estate)

Moderators: I_LUV_POWER!!!!, Joe, Adriene, moderns-r-us, Tony, Futura Girl, nichols, Java

Panton-ite
Modern Socialite

Need help in Atlanta

Postby Panton-ite » Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:44 pm

Our house in the ATL suburbs is on the market right now. We are looking for the perfect MCM under $300,000 (renovated or a fixer). A house we loved in Northcrest just sold before we could do anything on our current home. We constantly cruise through Northcrest and would love to end up there if the perfect house comes up and we can unload our current home. We've also seen a few Mods in Huntley Hills and Northwoods. Does anybody know of any other good MCM's coming on the market in Atlanta soon, listed or FSBO? We really need to be kinda centrally located for my job which makes the Northcrest area perfect. The thing that makes it tough for us is that I'm a woodworker and need room for a shop. Basements are rare in areas like Northcrest and I'm not sure what it would cost to build a shop/mcm addition to a garage or carport.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

thanks.

mcmatl
Modern Groupie

Postby mcmatl » Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:18 pm

I'm not aware of any specific listing, but if you aren't working with a good agent, I might recommend Cindi Sokol, a real estate agent that specializes in MCM homes (and a resident of the Northcrest neighborhood, I understand).

Good luck in your search. As a fellow Atlantan, I'll keep my eyes open...

Panton-ite
Modern Socialite

Postby Panton-ite » Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:24 pm

We're working with an agent that's an old friend of mine. We did check out Cindi Sokol's latest Northcrest listing (under contract). What a great house!

johnnyapollo
Special Secret Modern Agent

Postby johnnyapollo » Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:37 am