Kind of a newbie, curious about this house...

Home improvement Q&A, pictures and news fro Mid Century Modern Homes and Houses(NOT for Real Estate)

Moderators: I_LUV_POWER!!!!, Joe, Adriene, moderns-r-us, Tony, Futura Girl, nichols, Java

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
MCRanchFan
Modern Groupie

Kind of a newbie, curious about this house...

Postby MCRanchFan » Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:43 pm

I'm somewhat new to mid-century and MCM houses. We are putting an offer on this house (our first house)

Here's a better shot of it

It was built in 1956; 3bd 2ba; 1700 sq feet. The third bedroom looks as if it was meant to be a second living room originally, as it has a door leading to the outside. The windows aren't correct and the exterior is sporting faux, stone siding, which i'm sure isn't original but it fits okay. I peeked under the carpet in a closet and found linoleum similar to what Stephen found in this thread:

It also has a two car carport and flush exterior doors (yippee, crestview doors potential!)

Was it Storybook? Traditional? A random attempt at MCM by some hack architect?. Has anyone on here seen this type of ranch before?
It be really cool to find the original floorplans to this house or old drawings or photos of a similar house to get an idea of what we could be getting.

thanks guys
Last edited by MCRanchFan on Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

scowsa
Modern Guru
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Postby scowsa » Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:10 pm

Welcome to Lotta Livin'.

Check out the descriptions on Pages 64-66 in this document and see which most matches your house.