Landscape Dilemma

Home improvement Q&A, pictures and news fro Mid Century Modern Homes and Houses(NOT for Real Estate)

Moderators: I_LUV_POWER!!!!, Joe, Adriene, moderns-r-us, Tony, Futura Girl, nichols, Java

nicobus
Modern Fan

Landscape Dilemma

Postby nicobus » Wed Mar 29, 2006 3:35 pm

Hi All
I am a newbie to this forum, but not a new to MCM design. Low and behold my husband and I just recently bought the closest thing we could find to a MCM in Michigan suburbia. Too many mcmansions to count out here ;)

Anyways, this summer we will be tackling the job of landscaping the front yard, I love the look of modern californian landscaping, but of course with our climate we do not have the luxury of all the tropical plantings. We are in the process of changing the cement stairs and porch in the front to include 4 4'x8' stairs leading to the circular driveway. other than that we're definately in the brainstorming process as to what to do. Any ideas or suggestions would be such a great help! I have included a picture in this post, let me know what you think.

Thanks in advance!
Nicole
Last edited by nicobus on Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

SDR
Lotta Living FANatic
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Postby SDR » Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:54 pm

Neat, Nicole, and welcome. Is that buff brick on your house ?

I like it. Hope you can replicate the excellent "floating" detail to the risers (and edges) of your new step slabs -- that's a wonderful and valued MCM detail that never fails to bring life to steps and stairs of masonry. . .

The row of smooth boulders (?) could easily be recycled into more interesting formations, at the foundation or further from the house. Or is that your work ?:oops:

Keep us in the loop ! SDR
"I laugh in the face of danger! Then I hide until it goes away." Bender

nicobus
Modern Fan