New Midcentury home owner.

Home improvement Q&A, pictures and news fro Mid Century Modern Homes and Houses(NOT for Real Estate)

Moderators: I_LUV_POWER!!!!, Joe, Adriene, moderns-r-us, Tony, Futura Girl, nichols, Java

rogue
Modern Fan

New Midcentury home owner.

Postby rogue » Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:06 pm

Hi all. I've been a lurker on this forum for quite some time. I recently acquired a Mid Century Modern home in the Los Angeles area in late November and have been working on getting rid of all my old condo furnishings and trying to rework my style a bit to fit the home. I am no interior designer but I do know my tastes. My style tends to be modern, but I'm not overly keen on Midcentury danish furniture. Its too bland and "grandpa" feeling for my tastes. That being said, I plan on focusing on restoring the home as close to the original plans and landscape as possible. I was blessed with slide photos during the construction and the original landscape plans from the achitect. The furniture and my art tastes on the other hand are different story. I hope some of you can understand that.

The home was designed and built by Robert Kennard, in 1964. Perched on a steep incline on the curve of a road, it is perched upon the hill using a system of concrete Caissons. Its a 2 bed 2 bath, 1700sq feet with atrium that seperates the living area and bedrooms. Anyways. I figure pix are always the first thing anyone looks for so here we go.

The house viewed from outside the former master bedroom to the north. The walkway is strictly for window washing and architectural purposes. I yet to have the balls to walk out there yet :oops:

From the yard down below looking up:

The interior facing from the garage towards the bedrooms and through the atrium. This is when I first got the keys. The red paint and orange carpet has since been removed and I refinished the floors throughout.