pop up error messages

Information regarding the operation of this bulletin board.

Moderators: I_LUV_POWER!!!!, Joe, moderns-r-us, Tony, Futura Girl, sean, nichols, Java

User avatar
sky
Space Cadet (over 2001 posts)
Posts: 2224
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:36 pm
Location: The Bachelor Pad and Ladies Lounge
Contact:

pop up error messages

Postby sky » Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:19 pm

I inadvertently introduced an error in chat that caused alert error messages to pop up in some older browsers. It's gone now, though.

I don't know how many LottaLivingites it affected, but I do apologize if it affected you.

If you ever do have a technical problem like that, it's a good idea to post it here because maybe someone has a solution for it.

User avatar
ch
Special Secret Modern Agent
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 8:31 am
Location: CT

Postby ch » Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:07 am

"Older browsers?" I resemble that remark.

User avatar
sky
Space Cadet (over 2001 posts)
Posts: 2224
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:36 pm
Location: The Bachelor Pad and Ladies Lounge
Contact:

Postby sky » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:03 am

I think it only affected IE 6 and earlier.

As far as I know, it did not affect any CH browsers. What version are you anyway?

User avatar
ch
Special Secret Modern Agent
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 8:31 am
Location: CT

Postby ch » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:28 am

Version 7.0.6001.

I did get multiple pop up error messages that would then crash the browser. This only happened in IE and not Mozilla or Chrome.

Sometimes I wonder why I continue with Microsoft anything.

User avatar
sky
Space Cadet (over 2001 posts)
Posts: 2224
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:36 pm
Location: The Bachelor Pad and Ladies Lounge
Contact:

Postby sky » Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:03 pm

Oh – I didn’t mean your version of Internet Explorer, CH; I meant your version of you, the older browser!

From the robustness of your posts – over 500 – I figured that you were at least a CH V14.08.

I’ve about given up on Microsoft too. The main reason I keep buying Windows PCs is because I already own a lot of software. But it’s getting so that about everything I need nowadays is online, so I’m thinking of just going Linux the next time I need a new computer.

======

Update - I did some more research as to the problem. First, Microsoft does recognize it as a bug and says it will be fixed in IE 8:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... nformation

Second, the bug was only exploited because of something I did in error. I fixed that, but it would still be a good idea to keep it simple in chat - especially because it does an automatic refresh every 15 seconds or so.

User avatar
Futura Girl
Lotta Living Hostess
Lotta Living Hostess
Posts: 4161
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Las VEGAS babay!
Contact:

Postby Futura Girl » Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:32 pm



Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests