Preserving Craig Ellwood's Manhattan Beach Bank Building

ARCHITECTURE AND PRESERVATION NEWS for the Los Angeles Conservancy Modern Committee (ModCom) and other Mid Century Modern, Googie, International, Art Deco, 20th Century design

Moderators: I_LUV_POWER!!!!, Joe, Adriene, moderns-r-us, Tony, Futura Girl, sean, Josh Geidel, nichols, Java

dherber
Modern Groupie

Preserving Craig Ellwood's Manhattan Beach Bank Building

Postby dherber » Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:37 pm

I would like to find out the steps or procedures necessary to declare a mid-century commercial building to be declared a "landmark"?

I'm a huge fan of mid-century architecture and buildings that really "pushed the envelope" in design when they were being studied for feasibility and eventually built. Craig Ellwood was a noteworthy "architect" who designed a number of these projects in Southern California. Like Frank Gehry, Craig was an artist by profession but had an eye for incredible architecture. He had a small staff of registered architects who took his visions and developed the construction documents for having these eventually built. He was voted one of the "three best architects of 1957" along with Frank Lloyd Wright and Mies van der Rohe.

Long story short, I met with the current bank manager of one such building that Craig Ellwood designed and had built in 1958. The bank is on the corner of 18th Street and Sepulveda in Manhattan Beach. The manager was a little curious why I took such an interest in the current Citizen's Bank building as I had my Nikon camera in my hands. He said that a number of local residents wanted "something done to the exterior" to "bring it up to current standards". The bank is looking into perhaps demolishing the front of the building.

This bank is prominently featured in the book "California Modern: The Architecture of Craig Ellwood". http://www.amazon.com/California-Mod...711982&sr=1-20